EIT homepage Climate-KIC KIC InnoEnergy EIT ICT Labs Contact

Download the 2012 EIT Awards Yearbook

jordan 3 wolf grey louis vuitton outlet legend blue 11s sport blue 6s kate spade outlet kate spade outlet sport blue 3s nike kd vii louis vuitton outlet online michael kors outlet online retro jordans for sale kate spade outlet sport blue 3s Foamposites jordan 3 wolf grey legend blue 11s port blue 3s lebron 11 louis vuitton purses louis vuitton outlet

21 February 2012: Start up! The European Entrepreneurship Summit, 21 February 2012

The EIT Entrepreneurship Awards will culminate in a day-long conference in Brussels that will focus on how to unlock Europe's innovation potential and address the various challenges faced by European entrepreneurs.

The three winners of the EIT Awards 2012 will be announced at the awards ceremony followed by a gala dinner.

The day before the conference, the finalists will be invited to attend a training course on how to successfully present their businesses and prepare for their pitches at the conference.

The awards are being conducted in collaboration with the Science|Business Innovation Board AISBL, a Belgian not-for-profit association that manages a separate awards programme, the Academic Enterprise Awards, or ACES.


Venue: Royal Academy of Science, 1 Rue Ducale - 1000 Brussels
0815 Registration

Opening and Panel Discussion: Venturing in a storm: Can entrepreneurship and innovation kick-start the European economy?

Alexander von Gabain
, Chairman, EIT Governing Board
Alfons Sauquet, Dean, ESADE Business School
Maria da Graça Carvalho, Member of the European Parliament
Anne Glover, Chief Scientific Adviser, Cabinet of President Barroso
Moderator: Richard L. Hudson, CEO & Editor, Science|Business


Meet the ACES Finalists (ACES finalists' elevator pitches)
Alan Begg, Senior VP Technology and Development, SKF, and John Wood, Chair, ERAB, co-chair this session. Duane Schulthess, Science|Business, has a gong. We start with 3 sets of 3 elevator pitches for Life Sciences, Microsoft and Materials prizes, then end with a panel of the 3 Young Entrepreneurs in discussion with Alan Begg and John Wood.

Alan Begg, Senior VP Technology and Development, SKF
John Wood, Chair, European Research Area Board; Secretary-General, Association of Commonwealth Universities
Duane Schulthess, Commercial Director, Science|Business

1100 Coffee break

Think Biz - The EIT's contribution to a more entrepreneurial Europe
followed by Q&A

José Manuel Leceta, Director, EIT
Alexander von Gabain, Chairman, EIT Governing Board


Meet the EIT Finalists (EIT finalists do elevator pitches)
Each of the 9 finalists has a 3 minute elevator pitch, but unlike the ACES, after each set of 3 the panellists have a 10-minute Q&A with them as a group - talking about their ambitions, problems, etc.

Chaired by: Daria Golebiowska -Tataj, Member, EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee
Challenger: Kristo Ovaska, Founder, Startup Sauna

1300 Lunch / Jury meeting (closed session)

Breakout sessions (there are subject to change)

1. Successful Entrepreneurs - Seemingly effortless? Tips for the would-be venturer

Kristo Ovaska, Founder, Startup Sauna
Ruud de Jonge, Director Technical Audience Evangelism & Startups, Microsoft Europe
Diego Pavía, CEO, KIC InnoEnergy
Chaired by Duane Schultess, Commercial Director, Science|Business

2. It's a small world: Making EU initiatives SME-friendly

Willem Jonker, CEO EIT ICT Labs (tbc)
Jacques Darcy, Head of Division Technology Transfer, European Investment Fund
Rouget F. Henschel, Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP (tbc)
Chaired by Richard Bergström, Director General, EFPIA

3. Spinning out - Tech Transfer strategies

Karen Maex, vice-rector KU Leuven
Mary Ritter, CEO, Climate-KIC
Gandert Van Raemdonck, Chief Technical Officer, Ephicas
Chaired by Peter Koekoek, Online Producer, Science|Business

1500 Coffee break

Financing entrepreneurship
It's tough to finance innovation in Europe. Can we fix that? Featuring a study of how VCs and Corporate VCs in Europe work, by Prof. Bart Clarysse, Imperial College London, on behalf of the Science|Business Innovation Board

Bart Clarysse, Imperial College London
Brigitte Baumann, Founder and CEO, Go Beyond, President of the Board, EBAN (TBC)
Bill Magill, Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship and Family Enterprise,(INSEAD)
Chaired by Robert Sorrell, VP Public Partnerships, BP


The to-do list: How to encourage more innovation and entrepreneurship in Europe?

Anders Flodström, Vice Chairman, EIT Governing Board
Ludo Lauwers, SVP Research, Janssen Pharmaceutica
Xavier Prats Monné, Deputy Director General, DG EAC, European Commission
Edward Astle, Pro Rector Enterprise, Imperial College London
Chaired by Pat Cox, President, European Movement

1700 Reception

ACES and EIT Awards Ceremony (one after the other)

Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth
Master of Ceremonies: Pat Cox, President, European Movement

1900 Conference close
Venue: Palais D'Egmont, 8 Place du Petit Sablon - 1000 Brussels
1900 Reception*

Gala Dinner*

Welcome by Benoît Cerexhe, Minister, Brussels Region

2200 Close

* by invitation only

Speakers will include:

Androulla Vassiliou
European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism, Sport, Media and Youth
Maria da Graça Carvalho
Member of the European Parliament, Member of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy
Alexander von Gabain
Chairman of the EIT Governing Board and Founder of Intercell AG
Alfons Sauquet
Dean, Professor in Organization and Management Department , ESADE Business School
Pat Cox
President, European Movement
Anne Glover
Chief Scientific Adviser, Cabinet of President Barroso, European Commission
Jacques Darcy
Head of Division, EIB/European Investment Fund
Bill Magill
Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship and Family Enterprise, INSEAD
Ludo Lauwers
Senior Vice President, Vice-Chairman Management Board, Janssen Pharmaceutica NV
Daria Tataj
Executive Governing Board Member, EIT
Karen Maex
Vice rector of the Science, Engineering and Technology Group, KU Leuven
Edward Astle
Pro Rector, Imperial College London
Robert Sorrell
Vice President, Public-Private Partnerships, BP Research and Technology
Richard Bergström
Director General, EFPIA
Alan Begg
Senior Vice President, SKF Group Technology Development and Quality
John Wood
Chair, European Research Area Board; Secretary-General, Association of Commonwealth Universities
Kristo Ovaska
Founder, Alto Venture Garage; winner of the 2011 ACES Bridge Award
Bart Clarysse
Chair in Entrepreneurship, Imperial College London

Event Venues

The winners of the 2012 pan-European Academic Enterprise Awards (ACES) will be announced at a day long conference at the Royal Academy of Science followed by an award ceremony, a reception and a gala dinner at Palais d'Egmont, in Brussels, Belgium on 21 February 2012.

Conference Venue: Royal Academy of Belgium

Royal Academy of Science, Brussels
Photo: academieroyale.be/Schrobiltgen Luc Photo

Gala Dinner Venue: Palais d'Egmont

Royal Academy of Science, Brussels

kate spade outlet retro jordans for sale lebron 12 Louis Vuitton Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet foamposites for sale cheap jordan shoes louis vuitton outlet jordan 3 wolf grey kate spade outlet sport blue 3s coach factory outlet coach factory outlet jordan 6 sport blue sport blue 6s wolf grey 3s louis vuitton outlet sport blue 6s Louis Vuitton Outlet jordan 6 sport blue